

# MINUTES OF THE JUNE 7, 2021 MEETING OF THE DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION BOARD OF CONTROL

Members Present: Dr. Leah Gauthier (Elmwood Park Dist. 401), Dr. Jennifer Kelsall (Ridgewood

Dist. 234), Ms. Mary-Rita Moore (Triton Dist. 504), Dr. Nick Polyak (Leyden Dist. 212), Dr. Joylynn Pruitt-Adams (Oak Park & River Forest Dist. 200), Dr.

Kevin Skinkis (Riverside-Brookfield Dist. 208)

**Member(s) Absent:** Dr. James L. Henderson (Proviso Dist. 209)

Guest(s) Present: None

Staff: Dr. Anne Cothran (DVR), Ms. Lori Kwon (DVR)

# **CALL TO ORDER**

Dr. Gauthier called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Board of Control to order at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, June 7, 2021 in the Colonial Room at the Drake Hotel in Oak Brook.

## **FY20 & FY21 CONSENT ITEMS**

- A. Approval of May 10, 2021 BOC Meeting Minutes
- B. Ratification of FY21 Local Payments
- C. Ratification of FY21 Perkins Payments
- D. Ratification of FY21 CTEI Payments
- E. Ratification of FY21 CTEI Regional Payment
- F. Ratification of FY20 Education Career Pathway Payments
- G. Ratification of FY21 Education Career Pathway Payments
- H. Ratification of FY21 ESSER Payment
- I. Approval to Pay Bills and Ratify in August Meeting
- J. FY21 Expense/Revenue Reports

Dr. Skinkis moved, Dr. Pruitt-Adams seconded the motion to approve the consent items as presented. Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### **VOTING ITEMS**

# A. FY21 Year-End Joint Agreement Budget Update:

Dr. Pruitt-Adams moved, Dr. Kelsall seconded the motion to approve the updated FY21 Joint Agreement Budget, as presented.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

### **B.** FY21 Budget Changes:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Polyak seconded the motion to approve the FY21 budget changes that included removing \$21.00 of unspent grant funds from Riverside District 96 into the regional elementary transition line for immediate use.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### C. FY22 Budget Allocation Update:

Dr. Skinkis moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the FY22 CTEI budget allocation, as presented.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### **APPROVAL ITEMS**

#### A. Resolution for FY22 Bank of America Point of Contact:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the Resolution for the new DVR Director, Mr. Michael Kuhn, as the FY22 Bank of America Point of Contact, as presented. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

# **B.** Resolution for FY22 DUNS Point of Contact:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the Resolution for the new DVR Director, Mr. Michael Kuhn, as the FY22 DUNS Point of Contact, as presented. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

#### C. Resolution for FY22 FOIA Officer:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the Resolution for the new DVR Director, Mr. Michael Kuhn, as the FY22 FOIA Officer, as presented. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

# D. Resolution for FY22 GATA/ICQ Point of Contact:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the Resolution for the new DVR Director, Mr. Michael Kuhn, as the FY22 GATA/ICQ Point of Contact, as presented. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

# E. Resolution for FY22 IMRF Officer:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the Resolution for the new DVR Director, Mr. Michael Kuhn, as the FY22 IMRF Officer, as presented. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

# F. Resolution for FY22 SAM.gov Point of Contact:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the Resolution for the new DVR Director, Mr. Michael Kuhn, as the FY22 SAM.gov Point of Contact, as presented. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

# **DISCUSSION**

# A. Current Status of Grant Funds:

In the event that Districts have unspent and or unencumbered FY20 and FY21 grant funds, the Board agreed to hold a zoom meeting on Wednesday, June 23, 2021 at 8:15 a.m. for reallocation of funds.

#### **OTHER**

#### A. Transition to New DVR Director:

Dr. Cothran will be hosting an Open House for Mr. Michael Kuhn on Monday, June 21, 2021 at Triton College in Building M, Room M118.

### **B.** Dr. Cothran's Retirement:

The Board presented Dr. Cothran with a plaque of appreciation for serving the member Districts for 12 years. Each Board of Director thanked Dr. Cothran for her leadership, dedication, and expertise in education.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Dr. Pruitt-Adams moved, Dr. Kelsall seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:58 a.m. None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Leah Gauthier, Chairman	Dr. Joylynn Pruitt-Adams, Secretary
DVR Board of Control	DVR Board of Control