

# MINUTES OF THE APRIL 19, 2021 MEETING OF THE DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION BOARD OF CONTROL

**Members Present:** Dr. Leah Gauthier (Elmwood Park Dist. 401), Dr. James L. Henderson (Proviso

Dist. 209), Dr. Jennifer Kelsall (Ridgewood Dist. 234), Ms. Mary-Rita Moore (Triton Dist. 504), Dr. Nick Polyak (Leyden Dist. 212), Dr. Kevin Skinkis

(Riverside-Brookfield Dist. 208)

**Member(s) Absent:** Dr. Joylynn Pruitt-Adams (Oak Park & River Forest Dist. 200)

**Guest(s) Present:** Mr. Paul Jensen (Triton Dist. 504)

Staff: Dr. Anne Cothran (DVR), Ms. Lori Kwon (DVR)

#### **CALL TO ORDER**

Dr. Gauthier called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Board of Control to order at 8:15 a.m. on Monday, April 19, 2021 via Zoom video conference.

#### **FY20 & FY21 CONSENT ITEMS**

- A. Approval of March 15, 2021 BOC Meeting Minutes
- B. Ratification of FY21 Local Payments
- C. Ratification of FY21 Perkins Payments
- D. Ratification of FY20 CTEI Payments
- E. Ratification of FY21 CTEI Payments
- F. Ratification of FY21 CTEI Regional Payments
- G. Ratification of FY20 Education Career Pathway Payments
- H. Ratification of FY21 Education Career Pathway Payments
- I. Ratification of 3<sup>rd</sup> Quarter Salary & Benefits Repayment to Leyden
- J. Approval to Pay Bills and Ratify in May Meeting
- K. FY21 Expense/Revenue Reports

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Polyak seconded the motion to approve the consent items as presented. Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Henderson, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### **VOTING ITEMS**

#### A. FY21 CTEI Additional Allocation Submission (Learning Extension):

Ms. Moore moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion to approve the additional FY21 CTEI Grant allocation to Ridgewood High School for \$22,399.00 and to Leyden High School for \$22,398.00. Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Henderson, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### **B.** FY21 Career Exploration Additional Grant Submission:

Ms. Moore moved, Dr. Skinkis seconded the motion to approve the FY21 Career Exploration Grant to Elmwood Park High School for \$25,000.00.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Henderson, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### C. FY21 ESSER/CARES Grant Submission:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion to approve the FY21 Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief (ESSER) Fund to Ridgewood High School for \$742.00 and to Elmwood Park High School for \$716.00.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Henderson, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### **D.** Triton Five-Year Lease Renewal:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion to approve a five-year lease renewal with Triton College for DVR Offices.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Gauthier, Dr. Henderson, Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Skinkis. None opposed. Motion carried.

#### **APPROVAL ITEMS**

#### A. FY22 Board Officer Rotation:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion to approve the following DVR Board Officer rotation:

FY	Chair	Vice Chair	Secretary
2029	EP (Dr. Gauthier)	OPRF (TBD)	Ridgewood (Dr. Kelsall)
2028	Proviso (Dr. Henderson)	EP (Dr. Gauthier)	OPRF (TBD)
2027	RB (Dr. Skinkis)	Proviso (Dr. Henderson)	EP (Dr. Gauthier)
2026	Leyden (Dr. Polyak)	RB (Dr. Skinkis)	Proviso (Dr. Henderson)
2025	Triton (President Moore)	Leyden (Dr. Polyak)	RB (Dr. Skinkis)
2024	Ridgewood (Dr. Kelsall)	Triton (President Moore)	Leyden (Dr. Polyak)
2023	OPRF (TBD)	Ridgewood (Dr. Kelsall)	Triton (President Moore)
2022	Proviso (Dr. Henderson)	OPRF (TBD)	Ridgewood (Dr. Kelsall)

None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

## **B.** FY22 Regional Consolidated Calendar:

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion to approve the FY22 DVR Regional Consolidated Calendar including the following FY22 DVR Board of Control meeting dates and times:

Date	Times	Place
Monday, August 23, 2021	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, September 20, 2021	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, October 4, 2021	TBD	The Hyatt Lodge in Oak Brook
Monday, November 22, 2021	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, December 13, 2021	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, January 24, 2022	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, February 14, 2022	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, March 14, 2022	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, April 11, 2022	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, May 16, 2022	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference
Monday, June 20, 2022	8:15 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.	Zoom Conference

None opposed. Motion carried unanimously.

# **DISCUSSION ITEMS**

## A. Status of Committee Chair Applications for FY22:

DVR was pleased to receive FY22 applications from the current Program Committee Chairs. The contracts for FY22 Chairpersons will be presented to the DVR Board in the May Board meeting.

# **B.** Status of FY22 Grant Allocations:

ISBE has not released the FY22 grant allocations. In the meantime, Dr. Cothran has advised the DVR Administrative Council members to use the current year's budgets and to prepare for the FY22 budget adjustments when the grant allocations are announced by ISBE.

CLOSED SESSION  Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion opposed. Motion carried unanimously.	to move into closed session at 8:28 a.m. None
ADJOURNMENT Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Henderson seconded the motion opposed. Motion carried unanimously.	to adjourn the meeting at 8:35 a.m. None
Dr. Leah Gauthier, Chairman DVR Board of Control	Dr. Joylynn Pruitt-Adams, Secretary DVR Board of Control

OTHER None.