

# AMENDED MINUTES OF THE MAY 2, 2019 MEETING OF THE DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION ADMINISTRATIVE COUNCIL

Members Present:	Dr. Henry Bohleke (Triton College), Dr. Susan Campos (Triton College), Dr. Anne
	Cothran (DVR), Mr. Frank Holthouse (Leyden Dist. 212), Mr. Matt Kirkpatrick (Oak Park
	& River Forest Dist. 200), Mr. Eric Lasky (Ridgewood Dist. 234), Mr. David Weishaar
	(Riverside-Brookfield Dist. 208), Mr. Douglas Wildes (Elmwood Park Dist. 401)
Member(s) Absent:	Ms. Antoinette Rayburn (Proviso Dist. 209)
Guest(s) Present:	Mr. Paul Jensen (Triton College), Mr. Sam Tolia (Triton College), Mr. Tim Nystrom
	(Triton College)
Staff:	Ms. Lori Kwon (DVR)

## CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Cothran called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Administrative Council to order at 8:32 a.m. on Thursday, May 2, 2019 at Des Plaines Valley Region in room M142A.

## **APPROVAL OF APRIL MINUTES**

Dr. Bohleke moved, Mr. Weishaar seconded the motion to approve minutes of the April 11, 2019 meeting. None opposed. Motion carried.

## TRITON VIRTUAL TOUR

Mr. Sam Tolia demonstrated Triton College's Virtual Tour. It offers information and photographs in three different languages.

#### DUAL CREDIT INSTRUCTOR QUALIFICATIONS UPDATE

Mr. Paul Jensen distributed information regarding ICCB Program Classification Codes (PCS) and Triton's Dual Credit Instructor Qualifications. The Council discussed the Higher Learning Commission's determination of minimally qualified faculty in the context of dual credit, the every-changing standards set by the HLC, and the difference in the relevant criteria and assumed practices between Universities and Community Colleges.

## FY19 GRANT WRAP-UP

Dr. Cothran expressed ISBE's insistence that all grant funds be expended to the last penny and asked the Council to consider adding photocopies for career materials under Function/Object Codes 2200-300 in FY20 grant budget detail. She asked for reimbursement requests to be sent to DVR as soon as districts' May board meetings have occurred. She advised the Council to notify her of any changes in the FY20 grant budget.

#### FY20 DVR CHAIR APPLICATIONS

The DVR Board of Control has approved the Council's recommendations for Mr. Mike Reingruber and Mr. Ryan VenHorst as FY20 Chairpersons. Efforts are underway by the Council to encourage their teachers to apply for vacant Chair positions.

## FINAL FY20 REGIONAL CONSOLIDATED CALENDAR

No changes, comment, or questions offered by the Council.

## SUMMER CONTACT INFORMATION

The Council provided DVR with telephone numbers and email addresses.

#### FY20 IWAS SUBMISSION

FY20 CTEI grant allocations were released by ISBE today.



# FY20 ACTIVITIES

Dr. Cothran has emailed the final Triton visit schedule to the Council. No comment or questions regarding Leyden Trades Fair.

#### PERKINS V-LOCAL PLAN/COMPREHENSIVE NEEDS ASSESSMENT

After discussion, the Council decided on no additional CIPs.

#### FY19 STUDENT CERTIFICATIONS

Dr. Cothran asked the Council to send her additional certifications approved by CTE not mentioned in the two lists. Dr. Bohleke requested the Council inform their students that some of the certifications fees can be waived by Triton College.

## PERKINS INNOVATION GRANT (STEM/COMPUTER SCIENCE)

Members from Oak Park & River Forest, Leyden, and Ridgewood High Schools showed interest in applying for the grant. Proviso High School has already shown their interest. Dr. Cothran asked members to email her their innovative ideas to include in the grant proposal.

#### **OTHER**

The Council congratulated Dr. Susan Campos on her promotion as Triton College Vice President of Academic Affairs.

Adjourned at 9:36 a.m.