

MINUTES OF THE APRIL 16, 2018 MEETING OF THE DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION BOARD OF CONTROL

Members Present: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall (Ridgewood Dist. 234), Ms. Mary-Rita Moore (Triton), Dr. Nick

Polyak (Leyden Dist. 212), Dr. Joylynn Pruitt-Adams (Oak Park & River Forest Dist. 200), Dr. Jesse J. Rodriguez (Proviso Dist. 209), Dr. Kevin Skinkis (Riverside-

Brookfield Dist. 208), Dr. Nicolas Wade (Elmwood Park Dist. 401)

Members Absent: None

Other Attendee(s): Ms. Cheryl Bowser-Antonich (Triton)

Staff: Dr. Anne Cothran (DVR), Ms. Lori Kwon (DVR)

CALL TO ORDER

President Moore called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Board of Control to order at 8:52 a.m. on Monday, April 17, 2018 in Triton Building M, Room M134.

FY18 CONSENT ITEMS

The following FY18 items were presented for approval:

- A. Approval of March 19, 2018 Minutes
- B. Ratification of Copier Lease Payment
- C. Ratification of Perkins Payments
- D. Approval of Current Bills
- E. Ratification of CTEI Payments
- F. Ratification of Additional FY18 CTEI Reallocation and DVR Monitors
- G. Approval to Apply Bankcard Credit to Current Bankcard Invoices
- H. Approval to Reimburse Leyden for 3rd Quarter Salary & Benefits
- I. Approval of Revenue/Expense Reports

Dr. Skinkis moved, Dr. Wade seconded the motion to approve the consent items as presented.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Rodriguez, Dr. Skinkis, Dr. Wade. None opposed. Unanimously approved.

APPROVAL OF UPDATED JAB

Dr. Polyak moved, Dr. Wade seconded the motion to approve revised FY18 ISBE Joint Agreement Budget for DVR as presented.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Rodriguez, Dr. Skinkis, Dr. Wade. None opposed. Unanimously approved.

ILLINOIS ESSA PLAN AND CAREER PATHWAYS

Dr. Cothran noted the final version of the Illinois Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) Plan is complete. She has invited Mr. John Furr, Executive Director of NIU Education Systems Center, to give an update in June on the final ESSA requirements.

WIOA IN-SCHOOL YOUTH CAREER PATHWAYS GRANT

The Board discussed grant eligibility requirements of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA). Dr. Cothran will gather information and email the members in response their questions.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

- Starting in April 2018, the DVR Education Foundation will pay an annual fee of \$50 with no additional
 monthly fees for access to QuickBooks online, through membership in Techsoup, a resource center for
 non-profits.
- The minutes of April Administrative Council meeting were presented to the Board.

CONTRACTS

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Wade seconded both motions to approve Justin Tucker's FY18 revised contract to reflect the transition regarding any and all contract work for DVR from Awesome Dynamic to Mr. Justin Tucker and for Mr. Tucker to be billed directly by DVR from now through June 30, 2018 and FY19 Program Committee Chairpersons as Ms. Valarie Berger/Family Consumer Science, Mr. Mike Reingruber/Student Support Services, Ms. Patty Sarkady/Business Education, and Mr. Ryan VenHorst/Technology & Engineering at their current rate. None opposed. Unanimously approved.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Rodriguez, Dr. Skinkis, Dr. Wade. None opposed. Unanimously approved.

FY19 BUDGET PLANNING

Dr. Polyak moved, Dr. Skinkis seconded the motions to approve FY19 Regional Budget Activities, FY19 Regional Office Budget, and FY19 Districts' Local Match.

Roll call vote. Ayes: Dr. Kelsall, Ms. Moore, Dr. Polyak, Dr. Pruitt-Adams, Dr. Rodriguez, Dr. Skinkis, Dr. Wade. None opposed. Unanimously approved.

Dr. Cothran asked the BOC Members to email her by April 20th for opting-out of additional FY19 Programs of Study funds of the FY19 CTEI grant.

Dr. Kelsall moved, Dr. Polyak seconded the motion to adjourn at 9:30 a.m.