

# DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION BOARD OF CONTROL JUNE 20, 2016

### MINUTES

Dr. Steven Isoye called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Board of Control to order at 8:25 a.m. on Monday, June 20, 2016 in the Triton College Boardroom. Voting members in attendance: Chairperson Dr. Steven Isoye (Oak Park & River Forest Dist. 200), Secretary Ms. Mary-Rita Moore (Triton), Dr. Kevin Anderson (Elmwood Park Dist. 401), Ms. Kristen Smetana representing Dr. Kevin Skinkis (Riverside-Brookfield Dist. 208). Voting member absent: Vice Chairperson Dr. Jennifer Kelsall (Ridgewood Dist. 234), Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart (Proviso Dist. 209), Dr. Nick Polyak (Leyden Dist. 212). Also present: Dr. Anne Cothran (DVR), Ms. Cheryl Antonich (Triton), Ms. Denise Yaneck (DVR).

#### CONSENT ITEMS

The following were presented for approval.

- A. May 9, 2016 minutes
- B. Ratification of Perkins payments
- C. Ratification of website work payment
- D. Ratification of insurance payment
- E. Current bills
- F. Reimbursement to Leyden Dist. 212 for third quarter DVR salaries/benefits
- G. Reimbursement Leyden Dist. 212 for fourth quarter DVR salaries/benefits after June
- H. Authorization to pay summer bills, with ratification at the August meeting
- I. DVR Education Foundation loan forgiveness
- J. FY16 Joint Agreement Budget revision

Dr. Anderson moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the consent items as presented. Roll call vote.

Ms. Moore – aye

- Dr. Anderson aye
- Ms. Smetana aye

Dr. Isoye – aye

BOARD POLICY: ADOPTION OF ILLINOIS GATA COMPLIANCE This item was tabled until we have further information from the State.

### TRITON UPDATE

Ms. Moore provided an update on Triton with an overview of administrative changes, upcoming changes to the intake/placement process, financial impact due to the State's budget situation, upgrading of science labs, bakery expansion, and the upcoming renovation of Building B. Ms. Moore reiterated that Triton is here to serve the needs of our schools and the community.

### INFORMATIONAL ITEM

The Board received minutes of the Administrative Council's April 21, 2016 meeting.

### FY17 BUDGET DELAYS

In last month's meeting the question was raised regarding the possible need for an FY17 special assessment of DVR member districts due to delays in budget approval in Springfield. DVR has reserve funds to cover FY17 regional grant budget activities as approved by the Board, which will be restored upon receipt of grant funds. Reimbursements to individual member districts would be delayed until grant funds are received from the Illinois Comptroller. Dr. Cothran provided the Board with the list of the previously approved FY17 regional grant activities. Contingent on ISBE approval of the FY17 Perkins and CTEI grants, Dr. Anderson moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve use of reserve funds for FY17 regional budget grant activities, to be reimbursed by the grants when those CTEI and Perkins funds are received. Roll call vote.

Ms. Moore – aye Dr. Anderson – aye Ms. Smetana – aye Dr. Isoye – aye

# FY17 DVR DIRECTOR SALARY PAYMENTS

The DVR office must continue to function even if we do not yet have approval of the FY17 grants. When the grants are approved, no districts can receive grant funds unless they have an open functioning office with a full-time EFE Director. DVR has reserve funds to cover the Director's salary portion of the CTEI grant, and the funds will be restored upon grant approval. Ms. Moore moved, Dr. Anderson seconded the motion to use reserve funds to pay the FY17 DVR Director's salary portion of the CTEI grant, to be reimbursed by the grant when those CTEI funds are received. Roll call vote.

Ms. Moore – aye Dr. Anderson – aye Ms. Smetana – aye Dr. Isoye – aye

### WEBSITE CONTRACT: DOMAINS

We have domains for DVR's websites (main regional site, programs of study, mobile sites, Education Foundation). The Education Foundation site is paid for with contingency funds, and the remaining sites are paid for with CTEI grant funds. We need to pay the domain renewal fees to keep our sites, regardless of CTEI grant approval. The Board was presented with contracts for renewal of all of our sites. Per the terms of the contracts, payment is due July 1<sup>st</sup> of each year. If the CTEI grant is not approved by July 1<sup>st</sup>, we will have to pay the renewal fees out of local funds and this expense will have to remain in the local budget going forward. Dr. Isoye moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the domain renewal contracts with Awesome Dynamic Tech Solutions, and to pay the renewal fees, with ratification of payment at the August meeting.

# ENGINERING TECH TOUR COORDINATOR CONTRACT

In a previous meeting the Board approved the terms of the contract for the coordinator. The Board was now presented with a contract for Mr. Frank Holthouse. After discussion regarding how the State budget situation may affect our FY17 grant approval, the Board agreed to table the Engineering Tech Tour event until such time as we have a better read on the grant approval.

# ENGINEERING TECH TOUR TRANSPORTATION

The Board agreed to table the Engineering Tech Tour event until such time as we have a better read on the grant approval.

### CERTIPORT TRAINING

Certiport has offered to send trainers at no cost to give our IT teachers the opportunity to obtain industry credentials in IT areas on September 1, 2016. Previously local funds were used to pay for food for this full-day workshop. It is estimated that this year's food cost will be \$300. Dr. Anderson moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to use reserve funds to pay for Certiport workshop food. Roll call vote.

Ms. Moore – aye Dr. Anderson – aye Ms. Smetana – aye Dr. Isoye – aye

### PROGRAM COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSONS' CONTRACTS

The following were presented for approval as Program Committee Chairpersons for FY17. Ms. Karen Bear, Business Education Ms. Valarie Berger, Family Consumer Science & Health Ryan VenHorst, Engineering & Technology Mike Reingruber, Student Services

Ms. Moore moved, Dr. Anderson seconded the motion to approve the FY17 Program Committee Chairpersons as listed. Roll call vote. Ms. Moore – aye Dr. Anderson – aye Ms. Smetana – aye Dr. Isoye – aye

### BOARD OF CONTROL OFFICERS

Per Board Policy #8300, Board officers are elected based on district rotation in the following order: Leyden, Riverside-Brookfield, Proviso, Elmwood Park, Oak Park & River Forest, Ridgewood, Triton College.

Officers for the 2016-17 school year, effective July 1, 2016: Chairperson: Dr. Jennifer Kelsall, Ridgewood Vice Chairperson: Ms. Mary-Rita Moore, Triton Secretary: Dr. Nick Polyak, Leyden

Dr. Anderson moved, Ms. Smetana seconded the motion to approve the FY17 officers as listed. All ayes; motion carried.

### RECOGNITION OF DR. STEVEN ISOYE

Dr. Isoye is leaving his position at Oak Park & River Forest High School. The Board thanked him for his service to the Des Plaines Valley Region.

### ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Isoye moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to adjourn at 9:04 a.m. All ayes; motion carried.