

DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION BOARD OF CONTROL AUGUST 24, 2015

MINUTES

Dr. Steven Isoye called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Board of Control to order at 8:09 a.m. on Monday, August 24, 2015 in the Triton College Boardroom. Voting members present: Chairperson Dr. Steven Isoye (Oak Park & River Forest Dist. 200), Vice Chairperson Dr. Jennifer Kelsall (Ridgewood Dist. 234), Secretary Ms. Mary-Rita Moore (Triton), Dr. Kevin Anderson (Elmwood Park Dist. 401), Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart (Proviso Dist. 209), Dr. Nick Polyak (Leyden Dist. 212). Dr. Kevin Skinkis (Riverside-Brookfield Dist. 208) arrived during the meeting. Also present: Dr. Anne Cothran (DVR), Ms. Cheryl Antonich (Triton), Ms. Denise Yaneck (DVR).

FY15 CONSENT ITEMS

The following were presented for approval.

- A. June 16, 2015 minutes
- B. June 23, 2015 minutes
- C. Ratification of FY15 fourth quarter salary/benefits reimbursement to Leyden District 212
- D. Ratification of payment of FY15 bills (\$76,076.53)
- E. FY15 Joint Agreement Budget amendment

Dr. Anderson moved, Dr. Collins-Hart seconded the motion to approve the five consent items as listed. Roll call vote.

Dr. Kelsall – aye

Ms. Moore – aye

Dr. Anderson – aye

Dr. Collins-Hart – aye

Dr. Polyak – aye

Dr. Isoye – aye

FY16 CONSENT ITEMS

The following were presented for approval.

- A. Ratification of payment of FY16 bills (\$49,017.91)
- B. Authorization to pay FY15 CTEI final claims
- C. Approval of FY16 Joint Agreement Budget
- D. Approval of contracts for FY16 Program Committee chairpersons (Karen Bear Business Education, Valarie Berger – Family & Consumer Science, Frank Holthose – Industrial Technology & Engineering, Michael Reingruber – Student Services)

Dr. Polyak moved, Ms. Moore seconded the motion to approve the four consent items as listed. Roll call vote.

Dr. Kelsall – aye

Ms. Moore – aye

Dr. Anderson – aye

Dr. Collins-Hart – aye

Dr. Polyak – aye

Dr. Isoye – aye

DESIGNATED SUBSTITUTES

Each Board member designates one individual to represent the district at meetings when an emergency precludes the superintendent from attending. FY16 designated substitutes are Dr. Paula Hlavacek – Elmwood Park; Dr. Mikkel Storaasli – Leyden; Mr. Phil Prale – Oak Park & River Forest; Ms. Kim Echols – Proviso; Mr. John Bolger – Ridgewood; Dr. Kristin Smetana – Riverside-Brookfield; Ms. Cheryl Antonich – Triton. Board members will notify the DVR office is a change is required.

PER DIEM POLICY - FIRST READING

Dr. Cothran has obtained information from each of the DVR districts as well as colleagues regarding their per diem rate for food during professional travel. Utilizing this information, she has developed DVR Policy #4011, "Travel Reimbursement Rates," which states:

Mileage will be reimbursed at the published Illinois State rate. Per diem rate for travel to conferences and meetings will be reimbursed at a daily rate of \$50.00 for breakfast, lunch and dinner inclusive. Conference banquets will be paid in full. Alcoholic beverages are a non-reimbursable expense.

The Board held a first reading of Policy #4011 and no changes were recommended. The Board will hold a second reading at the next meeting.

READING IN THE CONTENT AREA WORKSHOP

Donna Ogle, Professor Emeritus at National Louis University, will conduct the workshop on Tuesday, September 29th for 30 participants. As of today there are 23 persons on the list. Dr. Cothran has contacted Administrative Council representatives for additional persons to fill available seats. Dr. Anderson moved, Dr. Kelsall seconded the motion to approve the Reading the Content Area workshop. Roll call vote.

Dr. Kelsall – aye

Ms. Moore – aye

Dr. Anderson – aye

Dr. Collins-Hart – aye

Dr. Polyak – aye

Dr. Isoye – aye

SCHOOL/COLLEGE ALLIANCE WORKSHOP

The workshop will be held Friday, October 23rd. Board members received a draft agenda, descriptions of breakout session topics, and the current list of participants as identified by each district. Some Board members provided updates to their lists. Dr. Cothran will begin the process of breakout session assignments.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Polyak moved, Dr. Kelsall seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:21 a.m. All ayes; motion carried.