

DES PLAINES VALLEY REGION BOARD OF CONTROL MAY 9, 2016

MINUTES

Dr. Steven Isoye called the meeting of the Des Plaines Valley Region Board of Control to order at 10:32 a.m. on Monday, May 9, 2016 in the Triton College Boardroom. Voting members in attendance: Chairperson Dr. Steven Isoye (Oak Park & River Forest Dist. 200), Secretary Ms. Mary-Rita Moore (Triton), Dr. Kevin Anderson (Elmwood Park Dist. 401), Dr. Nettie Collins-Hart (Proviso Dist. 209), Dr. Nick Polyak (Leyden Dist. 212), Dr. Kevin Skinkis (Riverside-Brookfield Dist. 208). Voting member absent: Vice Chairperson Dr. Jennifer Kelsall (Ridgewood Dist. 234). Also present: Dr. Anne Cothran (DVR), Ms. Denise Yaneck (DVR).

CONSENT ITEMS

The following were presented for approval.

- A. April 18, 2016 minutes
- B. Ratification of Perkins payments \$2,726.88
- C. Reimbursement to Leyden Dist. 212 \$153,224.11
- D. Current bills \$33,277.10
- E. Payment of insurance invoices upon receipt, with ratification of payment at the following meeting
- F. Contract for Programs of Study website work by VMdoh and 50% payment, with ratification of payment at the next meeting
- G. Postponement of the process to dispose of unusable DVR equipment until the FY17 school year

Dr. Skinkis moved, Dr. Anderson seconded the motion to approve the consent items as presented.

Roll call vote.

Ms. Moore – aye

Dr. Anderson – aye

Dr. Collins-Hart – aye

Dr. Polyak – aye

Dr. Skinkis – aye

Dr. Isoye – aye

DUAL CREDIT

The Dual Credit Summit was held April 29th. Dr. Cothran had requested feedback from Administrative Council members. Comments included the request to hold the Summit earlier in the year and the need for additional information on which Triton College representatives would be present to discuss curriculum (this would help determine the most appropriate attendees from the high schools). Some discussion ensued. Additional feedback can be sent to Dr. Cothran who will forward it to Cheryl Antonich and copy Ms. Moore on the communication. Jameta Rogers is Triton's point of contact for Dual Credit, and each district has been asked to appoint one person to serve as the high school counterpart for Dual Credit. Board members identified the following: Mikkel Storaasli (Leyden), Sheri Costello (Elmwood Park), Phil Prale (Oak Park & River Forest), Kim Echols (Proviso), Kylie Gregor (Riverside-Brookfield).

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

The Board received an update on the current status of districts' grant expenditures. The Board received minutes of the Administrative Council's March 3, 2016 meeting.

OTHER

Ms. Moore stated that Gail Krahenbuhl is leaving her position with the School/College Alliance. If Board members have questions or wish to provide suggestions for changes to her position description they should contact Ms. Moore.

Regarding the State's budget situation and its impact on colleges, Dr. Polyak noted the possible issue of whether K-12 funds would be released and if we need a temporary special assessment for FY17. Dr. Cothran is attending a Regional State Directors meeting tomorrow and said she would bring up the question.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Collins-Hart moved, Dr. Polyak seconded the motion to adjourn at 10:57 a.m. All ayes; motion carried.